Nap

Sometimes, when the sun is in the 14th house and Neptune is aligned with the seventh moon of Jupiter, my children both nap at the same time.  This, now, is such a time.  Here is a list of the things that I am not doing.

I am not vacuuming the carpet after Pickle tipped up her breakfast bowl this morning.

I am not emptying the bath of last night’s toys.

I am not mopping the kitchen floor, even though I know there is still a bit of raw egg encrusted on it from when Ziggler and I made choc-chip cookies (I’m not telling you when we made them).

I am not sweeping the front yard of the Camellia flowers that dropped in May.

Whose idea was it to get a washing machine that beeps at you when it’s finished?  Beep away, my darling, I am not emptying you.

I am not changing the cat’s litter tray.  I know it needs emptying, because I can smell it.

I am not trying to eradicate the pissy-stink from the carpet (gave up on that one a while back).

I am not, no I am most definitely not, going anywhere near Clean Laundry Mountain.  Have neither the inclination nor any crampons. Or any low pressure breathing equipment.

Neither am I catching up on the news, napping, emailing, or Doing any Personal Admin.

Nope.  I am drinking a cup of tea, and I am writing my blog.  The baby is softly snoring in her pram in the hall.  The sun is coming through the window.  The unpruned Camellia bush is throwing pretty, breezy shadows on the wall.  I find I am happy.

About vickola

Bad housewife.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nap

  1. Louise says:

    This is my world! I’d salute u if I had the energy….!

  2. teadevotee says:

    Hey, I am not sure how this happened but mums net just sent out an email in which they quote this post but attribute it to me…. Weird. I will try and sort it out so you get the credit you deserve! just wanted to get in touch so you know I am not plagiarising you :s

Leave a Reply

